Apple broke Snap stock: the company's shares fell by 20% after the report

Apple сломала акции Snap: бумаги компании упали на 20% после отчета

Snap, Snapchat video chat developer, published a report for the third quarter. Here are the main results compared to last year.:

  • revenue increased by 57%, up to $ 1,067 million;
  • operating loss increased from 167 to 181 million;
  • net loss decreased from 200 to 72 million.

Snapchat is a messaging service and video. We analyzed the company's business in detail in a separate review..

In the third quarter, the number of daily active Snapchat users grew by 23%, up to 306 million people. This is more than 302 million, which analysts have been waiting for. But sales turned out to be about 30 million less than expected. Revenue per user too - 3,49 vs 3,67 $. And all because of Apple's new policy, believe in the company. After the report, Snap shares fell by 20%, to 60 $.

Apple released a new version of the iOS operating system in April 14.5. Users were allowed to hide the device's advertising ID from third-party apps. So internet services like Facebook and Google it has become more difficult to track user preferences. This reduced the relevance of the ad., and with it the advertising revenues of companies.

Even in winter, before the update is released, Snap CEO Evan Spiegel spoke positively about Apple's initiative: "We feel, well prepared for change. Honestly, these changes are in line with our privacy philosophy. It's good for consumers, even if it hurts advertisers a little in the future. ".

Now the company says, that the new privacy settings affected ad revenue more, than expected. Snap forecasts fourth-quarter revenues of $ 1.16-1.2 billion. Analysts expected 1.36 billion, according to consensus.

Snap executives noted, that supply disruptions and labor shortages also reduced partners' willingness to ramp up ad spending.

Against the background of such results, promotions of other services, who earn on advertising, also fell hard: Facebook и Twitter — на 5%, Pinterest — на 4%, Alphabet — на 2%.

Over the past year, excluding the recent fall, Snap shares are up by 170%. Despite a capitalization of $ 118 billion, Snap is still unprofitable. Usually, the shares of such companies are volatile and react to any slowdown in revenue growth.. And Apple's privacy policy could affect Snap more, than the rest: Unlike Facebook and Twitter, the company has never reported a profit to shareholders.

  Almonds&Fleming from Krugman
Scroll up

Apple сломала акции Snap: бумаги компании упали на 20% после отчета

Apple сломала акции Snap: бумаги компании упали на 20% после отчета

Snap, разработчик видеочата Snapchat, опубликовал отчет за третий квартал. Вот основные результаты по сравнению с прошлым годом:

  • выручка выросла на 57%, до 1067 млн долларов;
  • операционный убыток вырос со 167 до 181 млн;
  • чистый убыток сократился с 200 до 72 млн.

Snapchat — это сервис для обмена сообщениями и видео. Подробно бизнес компании мы разбирали в отдельном обзоре.

В третьем квартале число ежедневно активных пользователей Snapchat выросло на 23%, до 306 млн человек. Это больше 302 млн, которые ждали аналитики. А вот продажи оказались примерно на 30 млн меньше ожиданий. Выручка на одного пользователя тоже — 3,49 против 3,67 $. И все из-за новой политики Apple, считают в компании. После отчета акции Snap упали на 20%, до 60 $.

В апреле Apple выпустила новую версию операционной системы iOS 14.5. Пользователям разрешили скрывать рекламный идентификатор устройства от сторонних приложений. Так интернет-сервисам вроде Facebook и Google стало сложнее отслеживать предпочтения пользователей. Это уменьшило релевантность рекламы, а вместе с ней и рекламные доходы компаний.

Еще зимой, до выхода обновления, глава Snap Эван Шпигель позитивно отзывался об инициативе Apple: «Мы чувствуем, что хорошо подготовлены к изменениям. Честно говоря, эти изменения соответствуют нашей философии конфиденциальности. Это хорошо для потребителей, даже если в будущем это немного помешает рекламодателям».

Теперь же в компании говорят, что новые настройки конфиденциальности повлияли на доход с рекламы больше, чем ожидалось. В четвертом квартале Snap прогнозирует выручку в 1,16—1,2 млрд долларов. Аналитики же ждали 1,36 млрд, согласно консенсус-прогнозу.

Руководители Snap отметили, что сбои в поставках и нехватка рабочей силы также уменьшили желание партнеров наращивать расходы на рекламу.

На фоне таких результатов акции других сервисов, которые зарабатывают на рекламе, также сильно упали: Facebook и Twitter — на 5%, Pinterest — на 4%, Alphabet — на 2%.

За последний год без учета недавнего падения акции Snap выросли на 170%. Несмотря на капитализацию в 118 млрд долларов, Snap — все еще убыточная компания. Обычно акции таких компаний волатильны и реагируют на любое замедление темпов роста выручки. А политика конфиденциальности Apple может сказаться на Snap сильнее, чем на остальных: в отличие от Facebook и Twitter компания еще ни разу не сообщала акционерам о прибыли.

  Инвестиции. События недели (№4)
Пролистать наверх