Tyson Foods shares hit new all-time high after quarterly report

Акции Tyson Foods обновили исторический максимум после квартального отчета

7 February, meat maker Tyson Foods released its first quarter 2022 report. The company raised prices and successfully passed its costs on to consumers.. By the end of the day, TSN shares rose by 12%, to 99 $.

Sales and forecast

Compared to the first quarter of 2021, Tyson Foods sales grew by 23,6%, up to $12.9 billion. Sales volume remained almost unchanged +0,3%, - but the prices have grown on average by 19,6%.

And here is how sales of each type of meat have changed over the year:

  • beef - $5 billion (+25,5%), volume - -6.2%, price - +31,7%;
  • chicken - $3.9 billion (+37,4%), volume - +3,6%, price - +19,9%;
  • pork - $1.6 billion (+13%), volume - +0,2%, price - +12,8%.

According to the company, demand for meat is still high, but due to a shortage of workers and supply disruptions, it is difficult for her to increase sales. For the same reasons, Tyson Foods is forced to constantly raise prices., that is, to shift their growing costs to consumers.

Food is a recession-resistant industry. Companies like Tyson Foods can almost painlessly raise prices and remain profitable during difficult times..

But there is also a drawback to this approach.. For example, possible attention from regulators. Tyson Foods and three other major meat producers control 85% US beef market. President Joe Biden concerned about record 40 years of price increases, which means, the administration can begin to regulate pricing in such an oligopoly.

According to company forecasts, in 2022, total sales will be about $50 billion 6% more compared to 2021.

Profitability and profit

Tyson Foods is trying to maintain margins not only through prices. The company recently launched a cost reduction program. So, in 2022, she expects to save 300-400 million dollars, in 2024 - a billion.

In the meantime, prices are helping Tyson Foods increase its operating margin., which almost doubled year on year, with 6,7 to 11,3%. Operating income and net earnings per share increased by 106 and 140%.

These figures were affected by various non-operating items, e.g. legal fees, which means, it is better to look at the adjusted values. Here's how they've changed in a year:

  • operating margin increased from 9,5 to 11,1%;
  • operating profit increased by 40%, up to $1.4 billion;
  • net earnings per share increased by 48%, to 2,9 $.
  Investidea: Winnebago Industries, because the country of nomads

Promotions

Since the beginning of 2022, stock indices S&P 500 and Nasdaq lost 6 And 11% against the background of the sale of technology stocks. But this is unlikely to worry Tyson Foods shareholders much., whose shares have risen by 14% and updated the historical maximum. It is precisely belonging to the security industry and the low cost of the company that help save investors' nerves.

Акции Tyson Foods обновили исторический максимум после квартального отчета

Scroll up

Акции Tyson Foods обновили исторический максимум после квартального отчета

Акции Tyson Foods обновили исторический максимум после квартального отчета

7 февраля производитель мяса Tyson Foods опубликовал отчет за первый квартал 2022 года. Компания повысила цены и успешно переложила свои затраты на потребителей. К концу дня акции TSN выросли на 12%, до 99 $.

Продажи и прогноз

По сравнению с первым кварталом 2021 года продажи Tyson Foods выросли на 23,6%, до 12,9 млрд долларов. Объем продаж почти не изменился — +0,3%, — но вот цены в среднем подросли на 19,6%.

А вот как за год изменились продажи каждого вида мяса:

  • говядина — 5 млрд долларов (+25,5%), объем — −6,2%, цена — +31,7%;
  • курица — 3,9 млрд долларов (+37,4%), объем — +3,6%, цена — +19,9%;
  • свинина — 1,6 млрд долларов (+13%), объем — +0,2%, цена — +12,8%.

По словам компании, спрос на мясо по-прежнему остается высоким, но из-за нехватки рабочих и сбоев в поставках ей трудно увеличить объем продаж. По этим же причинам Tyson Foods вынуждена постоянно повышать цены, то есть перекладывать свои растущие расходы на потребителей.

Продукты питания — это устойчивая к рецессиям отрасль. Компании вроде Tyson Foods могут практически безболезненно поднимать цены и не терять рентабельность в сложные времена.

Но в таком подходе есть и свой недостаток. Например, возможное внимание со стороны регуляторов. Tyson Foods и трое других крупных производителей мяса контролируют 85% рынка говядины в США. Президент Джо Байден обеспокоен рекордным за 40 лет ростом цен, а значит, администрация может начать регулировать ценообразование в такой олигополии.

По прогнозам компании, в 2022 году общие продажи составят около 50 млрд долларов — на 6% больше по сравнению с 2021 годом.

Рентабельность и прибыль

Tyson Foods старается поддерживать маржу не только за счет цен. Недавно компания запустила программу по сокращению затрат. Так, в 2022 году она рассчитывает сэкономить 300—400 млн долларов, в 2024 году — миллиард.

А пока именно цены помогают Tyson Foods увеличивать свою операционную маржу, которая год к году подросла почти вдвое, с 6,7 до 11,3%. Операционная прибыль и чистая прибыль на акцию увеличились на 106 и 140%.

На эти показатели повлияли разные неоперационные статьи, например судебные издержки, а значит, лучше посмотреть на скорректированные значения. Вот как они изменились за год:

  • операционная маржа выросла с 9,5 до 11,1%;
  • операционная прибыль выросла на 40%, до 1,4 млрд долларов;
  • чистая прибыль на акцию выросла на 48%, до 2,9 $.
  Особенности функционирования фондового рынка

Акции

С начала 2022 года фондовые индексы S&P 500 и Nasdaq потеряли 6 и 11% на фоне распродажи технологических акций. Но вряд ли это сильно беспокоит акционеров Tyson Foods, чьи акции в этом году подросли на 14% и обновили исторический максимум. Именно принадлежность к защитной индустрии и невысокая стоимость компании помогают сберечь нервы инвесторам.

Акции Tyson Foods обновили исторический максимум после квартального отчета

Пролистать наверх