Shares of the manufacturer of electric cars Rivian fell by 9% after the first report

Акции производителя электрокаров Rivian упали на 9% после первого отчета

17 December Rivian published the first quarterly report after the IPO. According to the company, due to the shortage of components, it will reduce the production of cars in 2021 by several hundred. After the report, RIVN shares fell by 9%, to 99 $.

What does it do

Rivian is a manufacturer of R1 electric jeeps and EDV electric trucks. Basically, the company can boast only pre-orders: jeeps — 71 thousand, trucks — 100 thousand. Buy all trucks by 2030 Amazon. Like Ford, Amazon is one of the shareholders of the auto company.

By mid-December, Rivian had produced 652 R1 SUVs., 386 of which sold. This year the company planned to assemble 1200 cars, but due to supply disruptions and battery shortages, it will reduce production by several hundred.

So far, Rivian has only one plant., which can produce 150-200 thousand cars per year. By 2024, the company expects to launch another production for 400 thousand cars. The new plant will cost Rivian $ 5 billion.

Quarterly successes

In the third quarter, which ended 30 september, Rivian sold the first 11 SUVs and earned a million dollars. Net loss for the quarter was slightly more - $ 1233 million.

First after Tesla

Rivian held an IPO 10 November. On the first day, inspired by the success of Tesla, investors began to buy securities of the company from the "hot" industry., despite the complete lack of revenue and profit. A week later, Rivian's shares rose by 60%, capitalization — up to 154 billion dollars, like GM and Ford, put together. By the beginning of December, the share price fell to the level of IPO.

Part of this popularity Rivian owes to analysts. They call the head of the company Superman and state, that only Rivian can challenge Tesla.

Despite such assessments, it's too early to talk about Rivian's success. A company without revenue in the coming years is waiting for billions of capital expenditures. Bank of America estimates, Rivian will report its first operating profit no earlier than 2025.

Акции производителя электрокаров Rivian упали на 9% после первого отчета

  Outcomes 2020 years for BorgWarner: falling profits and new acquisitions
Scroll up

Акции производителя электрокаров Rivian упали на 9% после первого отчета

Акции производителя электрокаров Rivian упали на 9% после первого отчета

17 декабря Rivian опубликовала первый после IPO квартальный отчет. Со слов компании, из-за дефицита комплектующих она сократит производство авто в 2021 году на несколько сотен. После отчета акции RIVN упали на 9%, до 99 $.

Чем занимается

Rivian — это производитель электроджипов R1 и электрогрузовиков EDV. В основном компания может похвастаться только предзаказами: джипы — 71 тысяча, грузовики — 100 тысяч. Все грузовики к 2030 году выкупит Amazon. Как и Ford, Amazon — это один из акционеров автокомпании.

К середине декабря Rivian произвела 652 внедорожника R1, 386 из которых продала. В этом году компания планировала собрать 1200 машин, но из-за сбоев в поставках и нехватки батарей сократит производство на несколько сотен.

Пока у Rivian всего один завод, который может производить 150—200 тысяч автомобилей в год. К 2024 году компания рассчитывает запустить еще одно производство на 400 тысяч машин. Новый завод обойдется Rivian в 5 млрд долларов.

Квартальные успехи

В третьем квартале, который завершился 30 сентября, Rivian продала первые 11 внедорожников и заработала миллион долларов. Чистый убыток за квартал оказался чуть больше — 1233 млн долларов.

Первая после Tesla

Rivian провела IPO 10 ноября. В первый же день воодушевленные успехом Tesla инвесторы начали скупать бумаги компании из «горячей» индустрии, несмотря на полное отсутствие выручки и прибыли. Через неделю бумаги Rivian выросли на 60%, капитализация — до 154 млрд долларов, как у GM и Ford, вместе взятых. Уже к началу декабря цена акций упала до уровня IPO.

Отчасти такой популярности Rivian обязана аналитикам. Они называют главу компании Суперменом и заявляют, что только Rivian способна бросить вызов Tesla.

Несмотря на такие оценки, говорить об успехе Rivian очень рано. Компанию без выручки в ближайшие годы ждут миллиарды капитальных расходов. По оценкам Bank of America, Rivian сообщит о первой операционной прибыли не раньше 2025 года.

Акции производителя электрокаров Rivian упали на 9% после первого отчета

  Акции Abbott и других производителей тестов на COVID-19 упали из-за снижения числа заболеваний
Пролистать наверх