4 kompanii ssha na mosbirzhe v kotorye opasno investirovat 1f4ac7b 4 компании сша на мосбирже

4 US companies on the Moscow Exchange, in which it is not safe to invest

4 компании сша на мосбирже, в которые небезопасно вкладывать

Before that, we already talked about the threat of rising interest rates for companies with excessive debt overload., Now let's make a typical debt load rating. We will evaluate by NetDebt / EBITDA, because, that it is more common.

In such an article, NetDebt and EBITDA were calculated as follows:

  • NetDebt = Long Debt + Little Debt - Cash and Equivalents (cache).
  • EBITDA = Operating income + Depreciation and amortization.

In the article, a long debt and a small debt are not necessarily the same, what is designated as short-term debt and long-term debt in the financial report. This also includes senior notes, unsecured debt, real estate mortgages (mortgages) etc.. Moreover, some companies may include cash and equivalents and short-term investments in various report items as part of currency equivalents.. Short-term investments were added to the cache to compile the rating.

In March 2021 r. not all companies have submitted reports for 2020 fiscal year. To bring statistics "to one denominator", for lagging companies, depreciation and operating income were linearly extrapolated, but the characteristics of the balance (cache, debts) used in calculations without changes. Companies with extrapolated data in the table are highlighted in bold.

Due to the above assumptions, the characteristics in the article may differ from the data from other sources..

Is considered, the lower the NetDebt / EBITDA ratio, the better for the company. If this ratio is negative, then we have a more suitable option: funds in the company's accounts are quite, to fully pay off all your debts. But in the table below, NetDebt / EBITDA is calculated purely on a technical level., therefore it is better to study the acquired value a little comprehensively.

For instance, if you blindly follow the rule “The less NetDebt / EBITDA, the better for the company ", then American Airlines may seem like the most reliable issuer. But detailed study indicates, that this company poses a huge danger to a potential financier: the activities of the airline at this time are operationally unprofitable, and there are not enough funds in the accounts even to pay off short-term obligations. For convenience, such "incidents" are highlighted in the "NetDebt / EBITDA" column in red. With all this, this example does not seek to compromise NetDebt / EBITDA. In addition, for convenience, in the columns "Operating profit" and "EBITDA" minus indicators are highlighted in red, and in "NetDebt" and "NetDebt / EBITDA" - green.

Rice. 1. Summary of debt characteristics of some US organizations. A source: EDGARRis. 1. Summary of debt characteristics of some US organizations. A source: EDGAR

At first glance it may seem, that Disney is in the greatest threat, KraftHeinz и BMS. But it’s not so. These companies are really very heavily credited., but with all this, the volume of the cache on their accounts is multiples of the size of short-term debt. Completely possible, that the low operating income of the leaders of the rating is temporary. Namely, Bristol Myers Squibb's operating losses linked to the acquisition of MioKardia.

If you comprehensively study the ratio of cash on accounts with the size of short-term debt, then subsequent companies will be at risk:

  • Pfizer,
  • NextEra Energy,
  • Exxon Mobil,
  • American Airlines.

Taking into account the business volumes of these four companies, doubtful, that some of them go broke. But difficulties with money can affect dividends and share price dynamics..

Scroll up

4 kompanii ssha na mosbirzhe v kotorye opasno investirovat 1f4ac7b 4 компании США на Мосбирже, в которые небезопасно вкладывать 2

4 компании США на Мосбирже, в которые небезопасно вкладывать

До этого мы уже говорили об угрозе роста процентных ставок для компаний с лишней долговой перегрузкой, а сейчас составим типичный рейтинг закредитованности. Оценивать будем по показателю NetDebt/EBITDA, в связи с тем, что он является более распространённым.

В такой статье NetDebt и EBITDA рассчитывались последующим образом:

  • NetDebt = Длиннющий долг + Маленький долг – Деньги и эквиваленты (кэш).
  • EBITDA = Operating income + Depreciation and amortization.

В статье длиннющий долг и маленький долг — это не непременно то, что в финансовом отчёте обозначено как short-term debt и long-term debt. Сюда также относятся senior notes, unsecured debt, закладные на недвижимость (mortgages) и т.д.. Притом некоторые компании могут включать cash and equivalents и short-term investments в различные статьи отчёта как части валютных эквивалентов. Для составления рейтинга short-term investments добавлялись в кэш.

В марте 2021 г. ещё не все компании предоставили отчёты за 2020 фискальный год. Чтоб привести статистику «к одному знаменателю», для «отстающих» компаний данные по амортизации и операционной дохода были линейно экстраполированы, но характеристики баланса (кэш, долги) в расчётах использовались без изменений. Компании с экстраполированными данными в таблице выделены жирным.

В силу обозначенных выше допущений характеристики в статье могут расходиться с данными из остальных источников.

Считается, чем ниже показатель NetDebt/EBITDA, тем лучше для компании. Если это соотношение отрицательное, то перед нами более подходящий вариант: средств на счетах компании довольно, чтоб всецело рассчитаться со всеми своими долгами. Но в таблице ниже NetDebt/EBITDA рассчитан чисто на техническом уровне, потому лучше мало всесторонне изучить приобретенное значение.

К примеру, если слепо следовать правилу «Чем меньше NetDebt/EBITDA, тем лучше для компании», то American Airlines может показаться самым надёжным эмитентом. Но детализированный изучение указывает, что эта компания представляет огромную опасность для потенциального финансиста: деятельность авиакомпанию на этот момент операционно убыточна, а средств на счетах не хватает даже для погашения короткосрочных обязанностей. Для удобства восприятия такие «казусы» выделены в столбце «NetDebt/EBITDA» красным. При всем этом данным примером мы не стремимся компрометировать показатель NetDebt/EBITDA. Кроме того для удобства в столбцах «Операционная прибыль» и «EBITDA» минусовые показатели выделены красным, а в «NetDebt» и «NetDebt/EBITDA» – зелёным.

Рис. 1. Сводка характеристик закредитованности некоторых организаций из США. Источник: EDGARРис. 1. Сводка характеристик закредитованности некоторых организаций из США. Источник: EDGAR

На 1-ый взор может показаться, что в большей угрозы находятся Disney, KraftHeinz и BMS. Но это не так чтобы так. Названные компании вправду очень закредитованы, но при всем этом объём кэша на их счетах кратно превосходит размеры короткосрочной задолженности. Полностью возможно, что низкие операционные дохода у лидеров рейтинга являются временными. А именно, операционные убытки у Bristol Myers Squibb соединены с приобретением MioKardia.

Если всесторонне изучить соотношение кэша на счетах с размером короткосрочной задолженности, то в зоне риска окажутся последующие компании:

  • Пфайзер,
  • NextEra Energy,
  • Exxon Mobil,
  • American Airlines.

Беря во внимание объемы бизнеса этих четырёх компаний, сомнительно, что кто-то из них разорится. Но трудности с деньгами могут отразиться на дивидендах и курсовой динамике акций.

Пролистать наверх